skip to main content

The PMs 

The PMs are a unique collection of over 1000 accurately levelled fiction and non-fiction texts. This collection of titles provides quality, variety and breadth to ensure students enjoy learning to read and experience reading success.

The PMs provide a complete literacy program to teachers, with pedagogically sound and accurately levelled resources for students to master the competencies of highly successful literate children.

To view our new PM videos visit:

How the PMs help to create highly successful literate children: 

Benchmarking: PM Benchmark successfully assesses students’ current reading and comprehension abilities. Once levels are established, resources can be selected to develop the following key literacy skills:

Oral Literacy: PM Oral Literacy to extend and enrich students' oral literacy; PM Sounds in Words, PM Alphabet Starters and PM Alphabet Blends to unlock phonological awareness
Reading: PM Starters, PM Stars, PM Gems, PM Photo Stories, PM Science Facts, PM Early Chapters, PM Shared, PM Plus and PM Library levelled fiction and non-fiction texts 
Writing: PM Writing to explicitly link reading to writing. 

Also supporting successful literacy development:

PM High Frequency Word Cards to help students learn important sight words 

  • PM Big Books for shared reading and class discussion
  • PM Teacher’s Guides for all PM series to assist teachers in maximising the potential of resources and guide classroom implementation
  • PM Software to add an interactive and engaging element to developing literacy skills

The Digital Classroom

For the digital classroom we have produced the PM eCollection – Nelson’s platform that re-imagines guided and independent reading for the digital age.

It comprises:

  • the PM eCollection app
  • the PM eCollection eBooks
  • the PM eCollection website. 

Young digital learners will enjoy the PM eBooks, which are all-time favourite PM titles adapted into eBook format, and which utilise interactive educational features to enhance the learning experience. 


The PM Philosophy

The particular needs of young children is uppermost in the minds of authors, editors, designers, illustrators and publishers when contributing to PM series. The PM philosophy is always a priority when developing PM resources. The philosophy relies on the following principles:

  • children learn to read well if they are encouraged to use a variety of skills, processes and behaviours, rather than a particular method or approach
  • when children are learning to read they should be given materials that have been carefully crafted to meet their needs – books that give them, from their earliest experiences with the printed word, success, enjoyment and understanding.

Every book in each PM series has been shaped to support these twin tenets.

What makes the PMs the most successful levelled reading program?

  • Careful levelling – all PMs have been meticulously levelled to ensure there is a gentle learning gradient
  • New word introduction – new high-frequency words are introduced slowly and are then reinforced in books at the same and succeeding levels
  • Close text/illustration match – the illustrations and photographs in the PMs help children to interpret the story and derive meaning from the text
  • Story structure – the PMs hook’ children into reading with child-centred stories and a classic story structure – character introduction, problem introduction, rising tension and a satisfactory resolution
  • High-interest non-fiction topics – designed to spark interest and enthusiasm in reading non-fiction, the PMs focus on topics that are child-centred with clear and logical presentation of facts, superb illustrations and photography.



Extend your PM Library collection with the release of brand-new PM Orange, Turquoise, Purple, Gold, Silver, Emerald, Ruby and Sapphire levelled books and Guided Reading Card Box Sets.

Each colour level will feature 20 new titles - 10 at each numerical level - comprising a combination of fiction and non-fiction texts.

The NEW PM Orange to Sapphire levelled books:

  • are pedagogically sound, and provide teachers with the confidence of trusted PM levelling
  • support the Australian Curriculum+ and can be used as resources for implementation
  • represent all the standard text types: recount, narrative, information report, procedure, description, discussion, exposition and response as well as poetry and plays
  • -contain a subtle thematic link to a Guided Reading Card (PM Orange to Silver) to reinforce and extend understanding of themes covered
  • increase in word count and pages in line with progression of students' reading age, for appropriate literacy skill development.


NEW! PM Guided Reading Card Box Sets with Digital Cards

The PM Orange - Silver Guided Reading Card Box Sets contain 20 four-page cards, with each numerical level comprising 10 cards.  Each card in PM Orange - Silver contains a thematic link to a guided reading text.  

The PM GuideA CD-ROM with electric versions of each card for use on computers, tablets and interactive whiteboards are also provided, offering flexibility in content delivery. 
There are 6 copies of each card, each box contain a 120 cards.

The PM Emerald – Sapphire Guided Reading Card Box sets contain 10 six page cards, with each numerical level comprising five cards.  Fiction and non-fiction texts featuring all the standard text types are provided.  Literal, inferential comprehension and applied knowledge questions are presented on the back of each card.




+ The term 'support’ used in reference to resources supporting the Australian Curriculum indicates resources that pre-date the Australian Curriculum, and therefore are not written to the Australian Curriculum. However, they do contain content that meets elements of the content descriptions, general capabilities and/or cross-curriculum priorities and can therefore be used as resources for implementation.
Find the resources that are best for you
Sub Level: